Marriage IS for YOU

Well…Halle Berry has said again that she will never re-marry.   Here is what she said in a recent article:

“I WISH I had known then that I was not the marrying kind. It would have saved me a lot of time, heartache and grief over the years.

I made all the wrong choices when it came to love. I have been an idiot. But, now, it is like a gift to myself – seeing more clearly and making better decisions. One thing was unavoidable. My father left us when I was young and that did affect my life. If I had a good father in my life, growing up, then I do not think I would have made the mistakes I made. I would not have been lost in love.

I would have had a good role model and known what to look for. As it is, I had to find out about marriage from the men I’ve married. I have done it twice and I am not going to do it again. The traditional form of marriage is not for me.”

Unfortunately Halle is not the only one thinking this way.  There are a LOT of people these days that do not believe in marriage or think it is for them.  Maybe it isn’t.  I’m not saying that everyone on the planet is called to be married.  However, if you want a companion & lover, you are called to marriage.  If you don’t, maybe you are a eunuch.  But just because you haven’t been able to make it work with another person, does not mean marriage is not for you.  It means you need to learn HOW to make it work.  It could mean you need to choose better when selecting a partner.  It most likely means you have work to do on yourself that you haven’t done.

Marriage is ordained and created by God.  He is the one who said it is not good for man to be alone.  He put the desire in you to join with the opposite sex in holy matrimony.  And yes, it may look dismal these days with the divorce rate and the state of relationships in society.  But remember – God is the creator of marriage and there are plenty of examples of great ones!  You probably even know some couples who got it right (maybe even the first time!).  Take a lesson from them and keep the faith!  Marriage is a blessing and FOR YOU.

Leave a Reply

