Attending Events Alone

I have two words for singles regarding this topic – DO IT!  I went on a dinner cruise on Saturday night, the annual Audrey Chapman Love Dinner Cruise on the Odyssey ALONE. 

Yes, I was a little apprehensive that I’d feel out of place on a ship full of couples, that maybe no one would ask me to dance, that I’d be looked at in pity for being alone…yes, all that went through my head.  When I called to purchase my ticket, I asked the reservationist if there were other single tickets purchased.

“Oh yeah, honey, I had several single guys call in and buy tickets and they asked the same thing – Will there be any single women on board?  You gotta call and let me know how this thing goes, ‘cause I’m in Chicago not DC and this sounds like it’s going to be a fun cruise!”

To make a long story short, I went by myself since I knew no one else would want to shell out $110 for the ticket (and knowing I could write it off since it was about relationships/dating).

I had a blast!  Here is what happens – when people find out that you are alone, they are quick to invite you to join their group.  As I stood in line chatting with the lady in front of me about how cold the weather was that night, she invited me to join her and her friends.  Turned out the tables were assigned and mine was way across the room, however, I was seated at a table with FOUR other single women who came on their own!  There was a delightful couple (unmarried) next to us, and the six of us hit is off so well we were talking, taking pictures of each other, dancing, and ended up exchanging numbers and emails at the end of the night.

That was Saturday.  Today is Tuesday and already I’ve heard from them all about us getting together to hang out again.

Sooooo, you never know how things are going to turn out unless you GO.  If it is something you want to do, GO.  Who cares that you won’t initially know anyone there?

Yes, it is stepping out of your comfort zone.  Yes, it may be kind of awkward.  But hey, it could turn out to be one of the most fun evenings of the month!

Here is what you must do if you do go out alone:

1)      Be friendly with those around you.  Smile.  Make eye contact.   Be open and let them know that you came by yourself.   They’ll take you under their wings.

2)      Seek out other people that seem alone and join them if no one invites you to join them.

3)      Don’t be self-conscious, no one is staring at you or thinking about you. You are not on their radar.  Just take in the scene.  You were brave to show up, so don’t waste it hiding in the corner. 

4)      Get your money’s worth.  Whatever it is, take full advantage of what’s offered.  If there is dancing, get on the floor.  If it is a seminar, sit in the front were you can see and hear everything.  If it is a buffet, sample everything.

5)      Enjoy yourself!  Make a conscious decision that you are going to have a good time.

On the cruise, there was one single guy out of the floor dancing up a storm by himself.  Everyone was watching but only because he was over the top.  He obviously loves to dance and it showed in how uninhibited he was.  He was all over the place and it was hilarious.  I was trying to get up the nerve to go out and join him when he stepped up to three ladies that were dancing in their own circle.  He ended up dancing with one of them for quite a while.  Maybe it was a love connection!

Here is a pic of me doing the line dancing. I’ll be there next year – whether anyone I know goes or not!  And that’s the way life should be.

 

2 thoughts on “Attending Events Alone

  1. Ms. Diva Dating: I just happened to find your site when I did a search of “Audrey Chapman” and “Odyssey”, as I was looking for anyone who may have written a review on this boat ride which I REALLY wanted to attend, but couldn’t. 😦 As I was reading your article and I saw the picture of you line dancing, I knew you and ladies like you are just the audience my urban line dance group is targeting. I’ve been a member of a great line dance group for eight years and the line dance community is a great place for single ladies (or married, LOL!) to come and just have fun…and get some exercise in the process. And we work it OUT! We have a large following and but we’re committed to spreading the art of urban line dancing. When you see us in action, you’ll agree that it’s become an art. We have classes, workshops, cabarets and more. Our next event is our FREE happy hour at Martini’s Nightclub in Ft. Washington, MD on Friday, May 13th, 6 pm – 8 pm. We also have one last class session before the summer break at Oakcrest Community Center in Capitol Heights, Md from May 15 – June 19. Email me for more information or to get on our email list. Thanks!

    • This is great! I’ve been looking for a place to learn more of the line dances. A little far for me, but hey, I’m sure I can make at least one Friday night. I’ll also spread the word to my group. Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

